The Six Schools of Yoga

  • Bhakti Yoga – the yoga of spiritual love. Bhakti yoga practices include chanting mantra, singing devotional songs, sharing spiritual stories.


  • Jñāna Yoga – the yoga of knowledge. Jnana yoga practices focus on spiritual enquiry into the ultimate nature of reality and constantly maintaining a non-dualistic outlook,  for example, “There is only God, nothing else”.


  • Karma Yoga – the yoga of selfless service. Karma yoga practices focus on mastering the art of working without a sense of ego.


  • Rāja Yoga – another name for the classical Astaunga Yoga developed by Patainjali. Raja Yoga focuses on learning to control the mind and withdraw it from all external objects.


  • Hatha Yoga – the yoga of controlling the mind through yoga postures and breath control. Hatha Yogiis consider the body as the vehicle of enlightenment, maintaining that only by purifying and mastering the body can enlightenment be attained.


  • Tantra Yoga – the yoga of awakening the Kundalinii and controlling the Chakras. Tantra focuses on the use of Mantra and Visualization in the Cakras. The role of enlightened spiritual master is also important.
The Ananda Marga system is a synthesis of the essential elements of all six schools. It is know as Rajadhiraj (King of Kings) Yoga.

The video below is about some of Ananda Marga’s international service projects – examples of Karma Yoga.