Eight limbs of Yoga

The classical system of yoga, systematized by the great sage Patainjali 2100 years ago, consists of 8 practices known as “Astaunga Yoga” or “The Eight Limbs of Yoga”


  1. Yama – Practical moral principles to help us enjoy a harmonious relationship with others
  2. Niyama – Practical moral principles to help us purify and uplift our inner environment
  3. Asana – Yoga postures practiced for physical, mental and spiritual development
  4. Pranayama – Balancing and enhancing the vital energy or “Prana” through control (Yama) of the breath
  5. Pratyahara – the process of withdrawing the mind from external distractions
  6. Dharana – the practice of concentration
  7. Dhyana – the practice of meditation (sustained concentration on a spiritual idea)
  8. Samadhi – the deep experience of complete oneness